Mystery in White: A Christmas Crime Story (British Library Crime Classics)

£4.495
FREE Shipping

Mystery in White: A Christmas Crime Story (British Library Crime Classics)

Mystery in White: A Christmas Crime Story (British Library Crime Classics)

RRP: £8.99
Price: £4.495
£4.495 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

But a deserted house where a bread knife lays on the floor, the kettle is boiling, the fires are lit and tea is laid. For a while it looks like they might get lost in the white-out, but they come upon a deserted house. It is an attempt at a psychological thriller similar to a locked room mystery except everyone is snowed in. Farjeon is now best known as the author of Number Seventeen, a play that was adapted for the big screen by Alfred Hitchcock. Some of them decide to leave the train and try and walk to another station which is supposed to be a walk away.

When Jessie twists her ankle on a particularly tricky bit of ground, the adventurers are lucky enough to find a house where they can ask for refuge. The author has great fun using the conventions of the cosy to bend and extend the genre in rewarding ways. Tras abandonar el tren una nevada los obliga a refugiarse en una casa donde también hay crímenes y misterio. for a stand-alone about a police detective, a developmentally delayed boy, and a package everyone in North Dakota wants to grab.Only the footprints of her discoverer disturb the snow which fell overnight – and which stopped just shortly after Marcia was last seen alive.

This author was apparently a very successful member of that group, but I had never heard of nor read him before.Made from high-quality porcelain, this floor tile is built to withstand heavy foot traffic and resist scuffs, scrapes and general wear and tear over time. Mystery in White tells the story of a group of people who met when they shared a train carriage on a service out of London that ended up stuck in the snow on Christmas Eve. Fans of Agatha Christie and Dorothy Sayers will probably enjoy this classic mystery which was re-released as a British Library Crime Classic in 2014. If they do not fool themselves into the assumption that they are God-fearing idealists, they will never get the millions who must pay for their damage to believe the same thing, and they will lose the war.

A train stuck in the impossible snow, snow that won't let up, strangers together deciding to try to walk to the next station, finding a deserted house, fire laid tea ready to be served, but the house is empty.

Thomson, the ill-fated group of characters never has cause to interact emotionally with one another, and Farjeon never encourages the need for (or interest in) casting mutual suspicion. Hopkins, droning on about his time in the Yukon or India; and Sir Edward Maltby of the Royal Psychical Society. Sprachlich war er am Anfang etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig, da das Buch Anfang 1930 geschrieben wurde und erst vor kurzem vom Kiwi-Verlag wiederentdeckt wurde. Al principio cuesta entrar en la historia pero luego tanto el misterio como sobre todo la resolución del caso me han parecido ingeniosos. Indeed, that is the main job of all politicians who, through their own inefficiency, muddle nations into war.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop